Week 14 – Classmate Conversation – Megan Salinas

On Wednesday, after our discussion in class, I had the opportunity to meet Megan Salinas, a 3rd year here in CSULB who is pursing a degree in Kinesiology. After Long Beach, she is hoping to go to PT school to become a personal trainer. Talking to her about her aspirations really interested me, because I saw the same curiosity in myself. Of course, I’m not a Kin. major, but in my daily life with lifting six times a week, I have gained a giant interest in our bodies and how it functions. After getting to know each other for a while, I began to talk about the QotD. We felt that school have evolved to segregate people by weeding the people who do not try. The drop out rate is really high, although I would sort of attribute that to the mindset of the parents who mindlessly tell their kids that they have to go to school. We felt that school is not necessary to become successful in the future, although it may help if school is something that is right for them. In the end, we think that high school and undergraduate studies will stay the same content-wise. The way that it is presented may change, but we felt that it won’t change very much. People will learn the same material and it won’t matter much how they learn it.

Leave a Reply

